Banana Bread? no. Zucchini Bread? nope. Kiwi Bread? yes :)

2 Sep

Sooo I guess I was going to write about macarons. Or my cooking class. And I will. I promise. Just….not right now. Tonight, I shall be writing about a special little bread. Kiwi Bread.

So I was standing at my register, mindlessly ringing up fruit after fruit and food after food. Eventually I got my break and I wandered back to the cafe to find my lunch and I glanced at the bread (eventually deciding on this delicious reuben soup) but I noticed the banana bread.
On my very first day in the kitchen over the summer, the very first thing I made was banana bread. The person training me said, “it’s so easy, but it sells really well. I don’t know why cause you can just make it at home, but we always have to make more” mmkay. that mightve been a little paraphrased, but thats the basics of what she said. Now. I used to love banana bread. But recently, I’ve grown an intolerance to bananas, I can’t even eat them in smoothies or anything. It’s annoying.

So I started thinking about banana bread. Then to zucchini bread. And I started thinking of other fruits. Then it hit me. Kiwi.

Kiwi’s are like a relative to bananas in type of fruit I guess. Or they are in my mind at least. They’re kinda the same firmness and yeahhh they seemed similar :p haha

So I bought some kiwis after my shift and came home to looks at some recipes. I googled “kiwi bread” and the only sites that really came up were “yummily” “food.com” and sites that had recipes to “banana kiwi bread” and recipes for zucchini bread.

So unhappily I chose the one on cooks.com I hate sites like that. But, with my limited options to choose from, I clicked on it.

So. Here is the recipe for Kiwi Bread

1 1/2 cup ripe kiwi (about six or seven)
1 cup packed brown sugar
1 tsp. grated lemon peel
1 egg
1/2 cup vegetable oil
1 1/2 cup flour
1/2 tsp. salt
1/2 tsp. baking powder
1/2 tsp. baking soda

Peel and chop the fruit and put it in a saucepan. Add the sugar and the lemon peel and bring the fruit to a boil. Take the pan off the burner and set aside. In another bowl, whip the egg and oil. In yet another bowl, combine the flour and baking powder and salt. Put the baking soda in the fruit mixture and stir until it bubbles up (only a second or two). Immediately pour into the egg mixture and whisk together. Once the egg and the fruit are combined pour in the flour mixture and stir until just combined. Pour into a well greased loaf pan and bake at 350 degrees for 55 minutes.
Let the pan cool for 10 minutes then flip out of the pan and let it cool on the rack.
During the ten minutes in which the bread is cooling, create the glaze.
Glaze
the juice of a lemon
1/2 cup powdered sugar
Mix the two together until a glaze is formed.
Then drizzle the glaze over the bread to make it look pretty and be all yummy :)
Let the bread continue to cool and cut up and serve once it is completely cooled.
I was incredibly unsure as to what to expect with the finished product of this recipe. And I was surprised. It was actually amazing.
Yes. Yes it was :)

 

 

Thoughts? Comments? Questions? Concerns?

